PDA

View Full Version : Ideal temps + voltages?



09-23-2003, 07:28 PM
hoho first question :o

So i have a barton 2500. earlier today i finally OC'ed the thing to XP3200 (2.2ghz). not sure what happened but it rebooted as i was playing CS. i had the voltage at 1.7 if i remember right. so first question is, should i raise the voltage to 1.85? and what should i try to keep the core temperature at?

Crisis
09-23-2003, 09:24 PM
overheating?

More voltage means more heat :? You should maybe invest in a chipset cooling if you're going to up the voltages.

I posted oc'ing for my board I forgot you have the asus :( I'll try and find something for you.

Mr. W.
09-23-2003, 09:58 PM
Cooler = better.

hehe?

Tass
09-23-2003, 10:41 PM
Bartons are a very hit/miss thing. Some of them can take voltage up the ying yang, but some get finecky. I would NOT try to push it past 1.9, lest you feel like making frequent trips to your local computer hardware store. That being said, while the spec temperature is 80C, anything about 60C is too hot and potentially dangerous.

Thran
09-23-2003, 11:39 PM
Lol as long as u dont do what i did... when i oced mine : (

The awful memeories : (

omg.... i can still smell the burnt mobo

lol

Ghost
09-24-2003, 12:55 AM
I run at 22C idle and about 36C when in game.

If you dont have it, try to find Motherboard Moniter 5. It will tell you your system temp and your cpu temp in your system tray.

Crisis
09-24-2003, 10:13 AM
I run at 22C idle and about 36C when in game.

If you dont have it, try to find Motherboard Moniter 5. It will tell you your system temp and your cpu temp in your system tray.

He has a hardcano.

Trix as long as you have a good airflow and temp move it up to 1.85V. Adding voltage adds stability but will start heating up more. Make sure your RAM is at the right setting and try that at 2.8V. You're already at 200x11 right? Play around and see how much higher you can go. If it dies I blame YOU!!!

Oh forgot to mention to set all the settings at aggressive (I think asus uses that)

09-24-2003, 02:26 PM
my hardcano isnt hooked up. the battery is dead. i only use it for the front USB. however i do have a program like ghost said that monitors all my system temps and fan speeds.

i try later today. was kinda funny lastnight, i pushed it to 3200 at about 1650v and i just had a complete shutdown ;[